Simple

Two blog posts in as many days! I’m heading to the woods so the wifi will be sketchy unless I head into town which I’m going to try and avoid. I sometimes get a strong desire for proper coffee and that’s about all that will entice me out, now that we’ve bought a new coffee machine for home I will be taking the old one with me. Happy days. The moka coffee pot is buried in amongst supplies and equipment for the teardrop trailer. I’ve given M a new deadline, it was originally April but I’ve dropped subtle hints that October might be a good month to go exploring!

M and I got up bright and early and headed to the passport office in Peterborough today. The appointment itself was a little intimidating but it was an extremely efficient process. We didn’t want to risk a postal service so we had to wait four hours for it to be done on the same day. M hadn’t really expected that so he wasn’t overly cheerful about killing that much time in Peterborough. However, he was happy to sit on the benches by the water fountain feature and watch the world go by for some of it. We really like those street level water jets that are programmed to squirt a little bit more than the last squirt and so on. Kids obviously love them and so do the pigeons.

I popped to John Lewis whilst M was happily watching the pigeons. Well it would have been silly not to! Despite the tempting yarn sales I only ended up buying buttons and a Toft crochet kit. I have to admit that I wouldn’t really be happy paying £25 for a kit to make a crochet dog despite there being a hook, needle and stuffing supplied along with the yarn. It seems like a lot of money for a stuffed toy. So I was obviously a lot happier paying £10 for the kit from the selected sale items. There were other animals and birds too but dogs… it had to be.

I already own the book Edward’s Menagerie and if you’ve been with me since my blogspot blog days you’ll have seen the rabbit, bear, polar bear, fox and sheep I made. I fully intended to give them away but they make such a nice collection, one that will be even better with the addition of a dog!

After much discussion we are going to see how the dogs get on with being separated for a few days. My guess is that Harvey will love chilling out with the men. He really is a bit of a man’s man. Riley is a softie and follows me everywhere which is a little to do with his former life and being left on his own for long periods of time. So he will enjoy the one to one time. Whether they will be grumpy with each other on meeting back up again I’m not sure.

To give myself a break from all those repetitive double trebles I’ve started a small person garment! I’ve chosen the simplest construction I can find and I’m hoping that will mean I can do my own thing with it more easily. At the moment that only entails making a small flower to finish it off with but we’ll see. Nice buttons might be enough detail. Despite sizing it up to dk rather than 4 ply and using a hook half a size bigger the chest measurement doesn’t seem anywhere near where it needs to be which is puzzling me at the moment. I shall carry in regardless because it’s a cardigan with only three buttons at the top anyway so it’ll have plenty of room.

The dogs and I took a walk around our back field this evening. Lovely low golden sunlight and the dogs stuck mainly to the edges rather than bounce through the wheat. They’ve harvested the side field but not this one and I do love the smell of dry, ready to harvest wheat. My bare legs were scratched and stung all over but I never mind, some things are worth a few scratches! Happy dogs, the sun going down and a lovely walk just at the end of the garden. Oh and those teasels, cleverly designed bug hotels. I love them.

2 thoughts on “Simple

Leave a Reply

