Productive 

I feel bad that Harvey doesn’t feature here as much as Riley. Just for the record he is as cuddly and entertaining but it’s not easy to capture him in photographs. We love him just as much as Riley. This morning I thought I’d try and at least get a sneaky pic whilst he was snoozing, no chance! He was up in two nanoseconds and retrieving a ball for me to throw. He’s obsessed with the game of fetch and thinks that any interest coming his way might involve a tennis ball if he drops big hints.

Three individual pieces of footwear have now made their way surreptitiously into the farmers field and so all outings to the lovely nature reserve are postponed until we’ve covered as much of the wheat field as is possible with actually damaging the crop in the hunt for them. We have a dry, partially sunny day here at long last and I can tell you, the bugs are loving it. I was picking off greenfly and thunderbugs for hours after that little trek. Harvey is, or used to be extremely talented at fetching but unfortunately ‘fetch the bloody footwear that you’ve taken into the field’ isn’t working.

I’m not sure whether it was the first sunshine for days or the run up to our holiday, but today turned into one of those extremely productive days. You know the sort, you wake up and suddenly feel like painting the kitchen window sill that actually needed painting four years ago? Check, that’s done. It prompted a complete Spring clean of the whole kitchen including two dusty dog beds. When the kids went over to double beds the dogs inherited both single duvet covers and single duvets. They’ve never been so cosy. It’s also easy to wash the covers from time to time, although it’s probably not that good for the washing machine filter 😉

I also seized the moment, with only J home and otherwise occupied with computer games, to have one of those extended clothes trying on sessions to see whether I could create a mix and match wardrobe for our holiday. When I was in my twenties I used to think those magazine articles about capsule wardrobes were quite fascinating. These days I just don’t care very much about clothes but I do care for travelling light. Turns out my black linen skirt which was brand new but from a charity shop in Bexhill, for £3 goes with bloomin’ everything! So I’ve got four daytime vest tops to go with it and an evening top if I feel the need to look smarter. My new dress is packed along with one pair of black linen shorts and then just a comfy outfit for travelling which consists of loose baggy trousers, a grey marl t shirt, a grey fat face cardigan (at least ten years old!) and my Birkenstocks. My suitcase looks suspiciously empty. All the more room for woolly souvenirs right?

Riley has been glued to the side of my suitcase for most of the day. He’s got a similar understanding of luggage as the black Cocker Spaniel we had when I was a child. Susie used to plant herself firmly by the side of any bag, coolbox or suitcase that was placed in the hall and make a sneaky dash for the car when they were taken out. She was lovely but had a bit of an evil streak if she had successfully got into the car and wasn’t actually coming along. Mum and Dad used to use to warn us that we’d lose an arm if we tried to reach in and move her and they weren’t wrong! Dad sometimes had to load the car with the bags, drive down to the village and back home again where she’d hop out happily thinking the outing had taken place. My memories are mainly of her coming along on every kind of outing so it can’t have been very often when she got left behind.

Along with painting window sills, laundry, spring cleaning, shoe hunting and capsule wardrobe creating I’ve also been tending to our various house plants. I’m slightly baffled as to why most plants don’t survive despite me paying close attention to them. I didn’t use to have so much trouble keeping plants alive. A decorative cactus came my way from E’s room. The mushroom style red top had died but I could see that the stem was ok. I have no cacti knowledge at all but I cut the dead bit off and lo and behold, months later, a tiny little shoot has sprung from the side. It’s not a looker but it’s alive! Things with tiny leaves do not like living here. Two such plants are definitely close to being added to the compost heap. Spider plants however, are thriving. Remember those little shoots I planted in April? Well that big spider plant pictured is the result. It’s even got flowers. It obviously loves the front window sill and I’m sure it will love it even more now that I’ve painted it!

Still on the subject of a distinct lack of green fingers, I recently said to M that one of us needed to take up the hobby that is gardening and since I’m a bit busy with my hobby of crochet it would have to be him! He did see the funny side and said that he did once enjoy gardening and would try and do a bit more. In the meantime we are in the middle of the wild phase again. The back lawn is too soggy to mow, the last storm brought all kinds of branch debris down, the bonfire is too wet to light and everything seems to be over six feet tall. Though, being non gardeners has some benefits, not least of all a long wild hedge full of blackberries!

I’ve been agonising over what kind of crochet to take on holiday. I know, it sounds dramatic, but it’s become my number one way of relaxing. There are weeks when I tell myself I will just read this week but it rarely happens. Books take so much longer to get through than they used to with that little background voice saying, just one more row. Finally I explained the whole dilemma to M; that a travel crochet project needs to be simple enough to do whilst other stuff is going on, yet not too boring. It must not involve too many colours in order not to take more yarn than necessary. Ideally the finished item could be worn or used on the way home. His reply, after some thought, was, ‘so a one colour garment or accessory, with a pattern that is slightly challenging but not too challenging and not too much yarn’. He then suggested a quick drive out to a yarn store! I protested that I had yarn already and that it was just a question of matching it up to a pattern or use with the help of the World Wide Web but he twisted my arm and off we went. So that’s how I came to buy the pattern for the DMC Natura Denim Genius Pullover; http://www.purplelindacrafts.co.uk/dmc-natura-denim-genius-pullover-crochet-pattern-26873-p.asp although I’ve chosen a darker colour to make it in. I’m hoping that it will see more use than the completed shawls I’ve made in the past; http://simplenaturalhandmade.blogspot.co.uk/2014/10/off-hooksunday-shawl.html and http://simplenaturalhandmade.blogspot.co.uk/2016/06/off-hookone-big-cosy-wrap.html They are cosy but I only wear them around the house in the depths of winter.

The yarn for the ‘pullover’ should arrive just in time and I plan to get it started so that the initial rows are completed without too many distractions. There’s been talk of long delays at some of the European airports and as I told M, my worst nightmare would be to have to spend three hours waiting in an airport queue without a crochet project!

My recycled cotton top finally got finished last night and I’ve been wearing it today. Its kind of substantial in that it used 400g of cotton but it’s been cool to wear on account of the holey design. It’s not going to make the cut for holiday wear though because it takes up as much room as a woolly jumper.

Even one evening without an interesting wip is a no go so I’ve been browsing patterns with my stash of pure wool in mind and came across this circular bag pattern which ends up being felted, though that is optional. I’m still mulling over whether to source a similar strap to the one shown or repurpose a leather belt. I have a stash of thrifted leather belts which I’ve been turning into bracelets and the punching tools that would make it possible to transform a belt into a bag strap. There’s also the crochet strap option of course.

It’s a beautiful sunny evening here. I have Harvey sitting by my feet on one side and Riley on the other. I can smell three distinct scents, a slight whiff of satinwood paint, freshly laundered sheets and newly cut grass. It’s a shame I’ve got to go and trade them for the smell of Pedigree Chum!

2 thoughts on “Productive 

  1. Your story about Susie the cocker spaniel made me smile. 🙂 I’m absolutely terrible with plants. I seem to be not to bad with cacti though, so hoping my little ikea cacti family survive another year….x

    Like

    • Susie was an absolute legend, there are lots of funny stories. You could bribe her with food for most things but getting her out of the car was not one of them! We have Ikea cacti too, my daughter never leaves Ikea without a new one! Most have survived but if they get a bit sad looking she passes them on to me. I have a cacti sick bay! Hope yours do better! 😄🤞

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

